Skin of Water, 2023
Production design, Short film

'Skin of Water' delves into Amir's turbulent journey through grief, guilt, and obsession as he confronts his role in his son Ehsan's tragic death. Using abstract and symbolic imagery, the film reveals the haunting echoes of a father's memories. 

The film is currently entering the festival circuit.


Writer & Director: Somayeh
Producer: Nima Shahmalekpur
Executive Producer: Nancy Ryan

Amir: Ramin Farahani
Leila: July Namir
Ehsan: Nikan Haghighi

Director of Photography: Sam Meyer
Production Designer: Rana Fadavi
Editor: Somayeh
Costume Designer: Somayeh
Casting by: Jinjo Casting
Music: "Bia Bare Safar bandim" by Mohammad Nouri
Courtesy of Caltex Records


1st Assistant Director: Amelia Sabeti
2nd Assistant Director: Harry Tomlin
Production Assistant: Anna Merryfield
Assistant Art Director: Max Stranger                     
1st Camera Assistant: Adam Fox
2nd Camera Assistant: Nevzat Altinisik
Camera Trainee: Max Whitaker


Gaffer: Jake Buckley
Spark: Bo Morgan
Spark: John Harkins
Spark: Stanislaw Proszowski
Grip: Wolf Wasserman
Sound Recordist: Rajan Thandi
Script Supervisor: Kasia Kaczmarek
Hair and Make Up: Sogol Razi
Runner: Steven Parks
DIT: Giacomo Esposito
Director’s Assistant: Sohaila Ferrier
Script Editor: Kira-Anne Pelican
Storyboard Artist: Galip Karadeniz
Catering: Salomeh Shayesteh - Aatisam Event
Catering: Exceline Catering

Post Producer                     Somayeh
Music and Sound              Shervin Hejazi
Music and Sound              Alison Manicourt
Sound Design and Mix    Jeff Smith
Dialogue Editor                 Martina Carluccio
Graphic Designer             Masoud Morgan
Colourist                            Tash Hicks


VFX Executive Producer: Johnny Fairburn                                
VFX Producer: Sorrel Higgins
VFX Producer: Gus Quirk
CG Creative Director: Jonny Grew
CG Supervisor: Adam Lindsey
CG Lead & Butterfly Artist: Amy Heyes      
CG & Animation Artists: Frankie Sutton                                  
CG Artist & Shoot Supervisor: James Henaghan                               
CG Intern: Anna Aroti
2D Lead & Shoot Supervisor: Callumn Wellby
2D Artist: Richard Payne
2D Artist: Davide Pascolo
2D Artist: Richard Greenwood
2D Intern: Tabitha Goyder
Compositor: Jason Hayes
Compositor: Alfie Vaughan


Kai Haisang  Richard Nicholas  Damiano Vukotic Dan Keefe  Isa Waschke  Ada Zuiderhoek Ali Eslami  Fozia Khaliq  Steven Parks  Sahand Noorzadeh  Meysam Noorzadeh  Azadeh Jafari  Narjes Jafari  Azadeh Haghighi  Afsaneh Dehrouyeh  Sam Pinney  Anna Dobos  Uncommon London